The Big One

How the fuck is my child nearly one!?

I swear only yesterday I was on all four on that hospital bed feeling like I was about to shit a bus sideways.

Where has the time gone? I’ve barely had time to catch my breath! 

What a whirlwind. We have been through so much in less than 12 months. But I’m starting to think the first year is maybe like the practice year, setting you up for the emotional rollercoaster that is the terrible twos. Just when you think you’ve been through the hardest yet most incredible year of your life your hit with new tasks. Potty training, walking, running (probably away from me), temper tantrums and embarrassing questions. I can’t bloody wait! I’m so fucking ready for it after my 2 hours sleep a night and being drained of all energy that ever existed EVER.

It’s fine though, we are parents right!? We are totally ready for any shit that comes our way, probably literal shit that will be thrown at us too. I’m sitting here laughing out loud to myself because it will actually happen, I’m terrified and amused all at once. Henry’s already grinning at me because he knows what’s coming he’s thinking “You ain’t seen nothing yet Mama, I am about to rock your worldddddd. Booyah!”.

So anyway, it’s only 7.12am but I shall raise a glass (don’t worry it’s only water that Henry has backwashed his wheetabix into, I wish it was wine but my food shop doesn’t arrive until this evening. Not that I’m counting down the hours or anything.) to the best and worst year of my life. Here’s to many more years of piss, poo, puke and all things manky, OH and another year of love, laughter, happiness and some fucking great memories! 

Happy days! 

5 thoughts on “The Big One

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

